List of President of India(1950-present)

Presidents of India: Eligibility

The Indian Constitution’s Article 58 states a few conditions for a candidate to be eligible for the election of the president. Some of the following have been given below:

  1. The President should be a citizen of India.
  2. The President must be above the age of 35 years.
  3. The President should be qualified for election as a member of the Lok Sabha.
  4. The President of India should not contain any office of profit under the State Government, Union, and other local authorities.

List of President of India

A detailed discussion on the list of all Presidents of India is given below.

Draupadi Murmu (2022-Incumbent)

Draupadi Murmu is the current President of the Republic of India, having been elected on July 21, 2022. She succeeds Shri Ram Nath Kovind as India’s 15th President. Murmu joined the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in 1997 and was elected as a Rairangpur Nagar Panchayat councillor. Murmu was elected Chairman of Rairangpur Nagar Panchayat in 2000. She was also the national vice-president of the BJP Scheduled Tribes Morcha. Murmu was Jharkhand’s first female governor. Check out the list of Presidents who came before her.

Shri Ram Nath Kovind (2017-2022)

Shri Ram Nath Kovind is an Indian politician who served as the country’s 14th President from July 25, 2017 to July 21, 2022. He was the first person from Uttar Pradesh to serve as India’s President. Former Governor of Bihar Ram Nath Kovind He has been a staunch supporter of societal equality and public integrity.

Pranab Mukherjee (2012-2017)

Pranab Mukherjee was an Indian politician and government official who served as the country’s 13th President from 2012 to 2017. Pranab Mukherjee died on August 31, 2020, at the age of 84, after a lengthy illness. He was a veteran of Indian politics, having served as Foreign, Defence, Commerce, and Finance Minister at various times during his long and illustrious political career spanning several decades.

Pratibha Patil (2007-2012)

Pratibha Patil was the country’s first female president. She was the 12th President of India, serving from 2007 to 2012. Patil was the first woman to serve as governor of Rajasthan from 2004 to 2007, prior to her election as president. Patil was the Rajya Sabha’s deputy chairperson from 1986 to 1988, and he was also the chairperson when Dr. R. Venkataraman was elected President of India.

Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam (2002-2007)

Avul Pakir Jainulabdeen Abdul Kalam was an Indian astronaut and the 11th President of India from 2002 to 2007. Avul Pakir Jainulabdeen Abdul Kalam (born October 15, 1931, Rameswaram, India—died July 27, 2015, Shillong), was an Indian scientist and politician who was instrumental in the development of India’s missile and nuclear weapons programmes.Before becoming president, APJ Abdul Kalam worked as a scientist and science administrator, primarily at the Defence Research and Development Organization (DRDO) and the Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO).

Kocheril Raman Narayanan (1997-2002)

Kocheril Raman Narayanan served three terms in Parliament from the Ottapalam constituency (1984, 1989 and 1991). In the Rajiv Gandhi government, he was appointed Minister of State (Planning, External Affairs, and Science and Technology) in 1985. In 1992, he was elected Vice-President of India, and in 1997, he was elected to the highest office in India, President. As the 10th President of India, he was the first Dalit to hold the high office of President of India.

Shankar Dayal Sharma (1992-1997)

Shankar Dayal Sharma was India’s ninth President, serving from 1992 to 1997. He was Chief Minister of the erstwhile Bhopal State from April 1, 952 to November 1956, Cabinet Minister of Madhya Pradesh with portfolios of Education, Law, Public Works, Industry and Commerce, National Resources, and Separate Revenue (1950-1 967) and Union Minister for Communications after that (10th October 1974 to 24th March 1977). He was the Governor of Andhra Pradesh from August 29, 1984 to November 25, 1985, as well as the Governor of Punjab (26th November 1985 to 2nd April 1986).

Ramaswamy Venkataraman (1987-1992)

Before becoming India’s eighth president in 1987, he was a freedom fighter. His presidency of India ends in 1992. He received the Tamra Patra award from India and the Soviet Land Prize from Russia for his work.

Giani Zail Singh (1982-1987)

The Chief Minister of Punjab became India’s President in 1982. His tenure of 5 years brought red-letter days like Indira Gandhi’s assassination, Operation Blue Star, anti-Sikh riot etc. 

Neelam Sanjeeva Reddy (1977-1982)

He was the first President to be elected unopposed. From the post of Lok Sabha Speaker, he became the president and remained so until 1982. 

Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed (1974-1977)

After Hussain, he became the second President to die while still in post. He acted as the president for a tenure of 3 years, from 1974 to 1977. 

Varahagiri Venkata Giri (1969-1974)

He remained the President from 1969 to 1974. He was the only independent candidate to be the President of India. He was also awarded Bharat Ratna in 1975. 

Dr Zakir Hussain (1967-1969)

The first Muslim President of India Dr Husain served a tenure of 2 years up to 1969 and died at the post. After his death, Mohammad Hidayatullah was made acting president. Earlier Dr Husain was the Governor of Bihar. 

Dr Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan (1962-1967)

The man whose birthday is observed and celebrated as the Teachers’ Day was the second President of India. His tenure was from 1962 to 1967. In 1954 Bharat Ratna was awarded to him. 

Dr Rajendra Prasad (1950-1962)

The first President of India, Dr Prasad worked for two consecutive terms from 1950 to 1962. Indian Independence Movement was led by him and he headed the Constituent Assembly. In 1962 he was awarded the Bharat Ratna. 

Who is the president?

He is the constitutional head of the government’s parliamentary system. He is also the Indian Armed Forces’ Supreme Commander. He represents the country but does not rule over it. The council of ministers holds the real power.

President is elected by the electoral college of
(i) elected members of both houses of the Parliament
(ii) elected members of state legislatures
(iii) elected members of the legislative assemblies of the Delhi and Puducherry (added by 70th amendment Act, 1992).

Elected for five years, but eligible for re-election immediately and for an unlimited number of terms.

If the president is found to be in violation of the constitution, he or she can be removed from office. This impeachment procedure can be initiated in either house of parliament.

In the absence of the president due to death, resignation, impeachment, or other circumstances, the Vice President assumes the presidency; if the Vice President’s seat is vacant, the Chief Justice of India assumes the presidency.

Presidents of India: Important Facts

1. Till date, seven Presidents have been members of a political party before being elected.

2. Six of these were active party members of the Congress Party.

3. Dr.  Rajendra Prasad (first President of India) is the only person to have held office for two terms.

4. Incumbent President Draupadi Murmu was a member of the Bharatiya Janata Party becoming the President of India.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!